Utah Department of Corrections


Registered sex offenders in Utah are governed by certain constraints as far as where they can travel, how often they must update their information on the registry and, for some offenders, inviting a child to accompany them anywhere. Below are some specifics regarding Utah's law:
 
The five protected zones off-limits for those convicted of a crime against a minor:

   1. Licensed daycares or preschools
   2. Swimming pools open to the public
   3. Public or private primary/secondary schools (not on grounds of a correctional facility)
   4. Community park open to the public
   5. Playground open to the public
 
• Requirements for Registering:
 
   1. Out-of-state offenders must register within 10 days of entering the state, regardless of the length of stay.
   2. Offenders under AP&P supervision shall register with AP&P.
   3. Offenders no longer under AP&P supervision shall register with the local law enforcement (police department or sheriff's office).
   4. Offenders must register twice each year — once during his/her birth month, and once during the month that is six months following that month.
   5. Registration requirements last for the duration of the sentence and the following 10 years after termination of the sentence in some cases, and for life in more serious cases (see below for specific break down of 10-year registrations vs. life-time registrations).
   6. Offenders must register within three business days of every change of primary residence, any secondary residence, place of employment, vehicle information, or educational information.
 
Length of Registration
 
For the following convictions*, offenders must register for 10 years following the date of termination of the sentence**:
 
1. Kidnapping
2. Voyeurism
3. Unlawful Sexual Activity with a Minor
4. Unlawful Sexual Conduct with a 16 or 17 Year Old
5. Forcible Sexual Abuse
6. Incest
7. Lewdness (4 convictions required for registration)
8. Sexual Battery (4 convictions required for registration)
9. Lewdness Involving a Child
10. Aggravated Human Trafficking
11. Custodial Sexual Relations (if victim was under 18 years of age)
12. Sexual Exploitation of a Vulnerable Adult
13. Sexual abuse of a minor
14. Attempting, soliciting, or conspiring to commit any felony offense listed above (or in the "life" list below)
 
 
**Two separate convictions of any of the above = lifetime registration
 
For the following convictions, an offender must register for life*:
 
1. Child Kidnapping
2. Aggravated Kidnapping
3. Enticing a Minor over the Internet
4. Rape
5. Rape of a Child
6. Object Rape
7. Object Rape of a Child
8. Forcible Sodomy
9. Sodomy on a Child
10. Sexual Abuse of a Child or Aggravated Sexual Abuse of a Child
11. Aggravated Sexual Assault
12. Sexual Exploitation of a Minor
13. Aggravated Exploitation of Prostitution

*Depending on the conviction date, the registration length of any of these might only be 10 years for an individual (for those sentenced before laws changed).

*Number of registered sex offenders in Utah: 7,154

Percent compliant with sex offender registry laws: 96 percent

Number of registered sex offenders in Utah under supervision by Federal or Adult Probation and Parole: 1,954

Number of registered sex offenders in Utah currently in jail or prison: 2,385

Number of sex offenders in Utah no longer on supervision but still required to register: 2,815

 * Current as of Jan. 22, 2015

The Utah Department of Corrections manages the state's Sex Offender & Kidnap Offender Registry. The Department processes thousands of registrations each year and makes information about offenders available through a public database.

However, the Department is not in charge of actively registering offenders nor monitoring an offender's compliance once he or she is registered unless the offender is being actively supervised by Adult Probation and Parole. Ensuring an offender is registered and monitoring compliance is the responsibility of local law enforcement agencies.

The Sex Offender & Kidnap Registry Unit's responsibilities include the following:

— Provide information to the public.
— Work with local county sheriff's offices and city police departments to process registrations and enter information into the registry.
— Review pre-sentence investigation reports and police reports for specific crime information that may be accessed by local law enforcement during investigations.
— Work with local law enforcement regarding non-compliant registrants.
— Work with courts and other states' registration units concerning registrants.
— Receive and process tips from the public.
— Deal with and track the approximately 7,000 offenders currently appearing in the registry.

Once released to the community, sex offenders must adhere to standards of supervision typical for all parolees, but they are supervised more tightly, normally spend more time under supervision, and are visited by AP&P agents more frequently. In addition to heightened monitoring, they must adhere to an additional set of sex-offender specific probation or parole standards.

These links will take you to specific information about conditions sex offenders must abide by:

Conditions for Sex Offenders (offenses victimizing a minor) under Probation/Parole Supervision
Conditions for Sex Offenders (offenses victimizing an adult) under Probation/Parole Supervision 

For information about the registry or registration requirements, contact the Sex Offender & Kidnap Offender Registry by calling 801-495-7700. This link will take you to the registry: Sex Offender Registry